February 21, 2024

Jams 247

Jams & News 24/7

Pep Guardiola makes managerial history with treble for Manchester City. »

2 min read

  • Pep Guardiola sets managerial history with Manchester City treble.

Pep Guardiola makes managerial history with treble for Manchester City.

Pep Guardiola is the first manager in history to win the treble with two different teams.

His Manchester City side won the UEFA Champions League final 1-0 against Inter on Saturday night, completing their trophy tally for the 2022/23 season. Rodri scored the game-winning goal.

Man City defeated Arsenal to reclaim first place in the Premier League this season, with the Gunners ceding the crown after leading for 248 days – a record for a team that did not finish first.

Last week, they defeated rivals Manchester United in the FA Cup final. The Citizens won at Wembley Stadium thanks to a brace from Ilkay Gundogan and a penalty from Bruno Fernandes.

Experiments by the Citizens By this definition, Guardiola is the only manager in history to have achieved the treble on two different occasions and with two distinct teams.

  • Managers who have achieved the treble

When Jock Stein’s Celtic team won on all fronts in 1966–1967, he became the first manager to secure the treble.

Then, two Dutch teams followed in the footsteps of Stein and Celtic, with Stefan Kovacs doing it with Ajax in 1971–1972 and Guus Hiddink with PSV in 1987–1988.

Hiddink’s triumph was followed by Sir Alex Ferguson’s victory with Manchester United in 1998–1999.

In 2008–09, during his first campaign as Barcelona’s manager, Guardiola captured his first triple title by defeating Ferguson’s Manchester United in the Champions League final.

Next to complete the triple was his professional adversary Jose Mourinho, whose Inter team eliminated Barça from the Champions League on their way to victory the very next season.

Following three runners-up finishes in 2011/12, Bayern Munich accomplished a remarkable treble under Jupp Heynckes in 2012/13.

Barcelona won their second treble under Luis Enrique in 2014/15, led by a formidable front three of Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez, and Neymar.

Hansi Flick took over as Bayern Munich manager in the middle of the 2019/20 season and led them to glory in the Bundesliga, DFB Pokal, and Champions League.

Guardiola’s Manchester City are the latest team to etch their name into the annals of football history.


Source link

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.